I started collecting these radio shows people post on http://www.archive.org/browse.php?collection=etree&field=%2Fmetadata%2Fcreator.  I had a few radio shows in the past, the best being Tom Petty’s closing of the Fillmore in 1996.  That show is hot, I only have it on cassette. (Thanks to Jesse Brott for recording it).  You know the quality is good and there’s always some banter between the band and the DJ, which really makes it for me, compared to an average bootleg.  So far, I’ve found some great recordings that really accent the collections I have of some of my favorite bands–Dr. Dog, Umphrey’s McGee, Little Feat (a killer ’73 recording) REM (an ’84 show long before fame hit), The Derek Trucks Band, Warren Zevon, JJ Grey and Mofro, etc…. Plus I found others that I’d listen to over the band’s studio albums, like Jackopierce, Leftover Salmon, and the John Mullins Band, etc…..Great finds.  I was really looking to expand my live collection, and I prefer the radio shows over concerts.  If only I could find Bikeride, Gastr Del Sol, Jellyfish, The Housemartins, Dr. John, King Khan, 20 Miles, Nils Lofgren……………………………..

