Blasting Van Halen right now at 541 in the morning.  Dance Dance Dance the Night Away   One of the all time great arena rock tunes

but my favorites from the band are “Everybody Wants Some” and “I’ll Wait”.  There’s a number of songs I like from the original Van Halen–Little Dreamer, Hot For Teacher, Bottoms Up!, Beautiful Girls, And The Cradle Will Rock, Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love, Jump, You Really Got Me, Push Comes To Shove, Janie’s Crying. Dancing in the Street is OK, and Fair Warning and Diver Down are solid albums.  This is the kind of stuff my sister and her friends and people entering their forties were pumping in high school.  Some of my friends played Van Halen along with a diet of steady ACDC mixed with Motley Crue and Poison and Ozzy.  Lots of Ozzy.  High school was awesome.  My primary group of friends spun Tom Petty over and over and some G Dead, Metallica, Violent Femmes.  Party music.  Then there was hanging out with D Dubs and his bro with the insane music taste and a collection to beat the band.   Gram Parsons and Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, New Riders of the Purple Sage and the Allman Brothers.  The Who and The Rolling Stones.  The Beatles, so much Beatles.   Grateful Dead too, good music.  I’m going to listen to some Dead soon.

I know Eddie gets the accolades now but David Lee Roth really made that engine revv.  He’s a fabulous frontman.  Their music really did influence popular culture in the late seventies/early eighties and nineties and they remain a bona fide classic American rockers–of which their are few with real staying power.  I know they trudged on with Sammy Hagar and had some hits (Poundcake and Finish What You Started come to mind) but the true Van Halen exists before 1985.

Did Van Halen ever tour with the Cars back in their heyday?  That woulda been a tight show.  Good Times Roooooooooollllllll

I Don’t Feel Tardy!

