The way I gather and listen to music.  I’m picking seven prog bands, ten prog albums, 5 prog records I’ve been meaning to evaluate, 2 Jazz artists, 10 jazz albums, 5 R and B, 2 Blues, 2 world, 2 country, and 1 electronica album and putting them in my collection(plus 5 random live albums, like Viva Terlingua!).  I’m going to listen to them, digest them, listen to them some more and write about them.  I’m not sure how long I’m going to stick with this group but I thought maybe 2-3 months.  Then I’d move on.

This season’s picks are:

Prog Bands: Premiata Forneria Marconi, DFA, Camel, National Health, KBB, Happy the Man, and Jazz Q.

Prog Albums: Et Cetera, Flash-Out of Our Hands, Kayak–Merlin, Bard of the Unseen, SBB–Nowy Horizont, One Shot–Dark Shot, Polyphony–Without Introduction, Quella Vecchia Locanda, Spinetta Jade–Alma de Diamante, Von Hertzen Brothers–Love Remains the Same, Renaissance–Scheherazade and Other Stories

5 prog Others: Van der Graaf Generator–Godbluff, Celeste–Principe di un Giorno, Wobbler–Rites at Dawn, Elohim–Mana Perdu, Weidorje

Live Albums–Dixie Dregs–Bring ’em Back Alive, Miriodor–Live at NEARfest, Caravan–Live at the BBC ’68-’75, Kollektiv–Live 1973, Wigwam–Live Music From the Twilight Zone

Jazz Artists: Dorothy Ashby and Passport

Jazz Albums: Stan Clarke–Children of Forever, Bola Sete–Live at the Monterey Jazz Festival, The Chris Hinze Combination–Sister Slick, Alphonse Mouzon–Funky Snakefoot, Walter Wanderley–Rain Forest, Paul Desmond–Desmond Blue,   Still Can’t Say Enough–John Lee and Gerry Brown, Belsta River–Gabor Szabo, Crossings–Herbie Hancock, Azymuth–Flame

R&B Albums: Wah Wah Watson–Elementary, Bernard Wright–‘Nard/Funky Beat, The Baker Brothers–All Baked Out: Live in Japan, Black Soul, Funk Fu: Psycho Funk vs. Rare Groove 1970-1976.

Blues: Big John Wrencher–Big John’s Boogie…Plus, Buster Benton–Spider in My Stew

Country: Charlie McCoy–Good Time Charlie, Johnny Paycheck–She’s All I Got

World: Skatalites–Rolling Steady  Texas Tornados–Hangin’ On By a Thread

Electronica: Tone Float–The Organisation

Randos–Beer For Dolphins, Easy Beat, Viva Terlingua!, Hugo in Wonder-Land!  Eddie Murphy–Delirious

So here’s the summer’s catalogue.  Of course if I want the old standby’s I can blast the stereo.  This is just on the computer.

