I’ve been thinking about it, and I think I may have had the best day of my life yesterday.  My wife kicked me and our oldest son Louis out of the house all day so she could potty train our youngest without any distractions.

So what did we do?  We hit the town and had fun, that’s what we did.  It was too rainy to watch the Packerspractice, unfortunately, so we had to skip that.  We went to Chuck E. Cheese instead.  I’d never been to Chuck E. Cheese at 9 AM, we had the place to ourselves.  We ran around and played all the games five times and won so many tickets we didn’t know what to get when we were done.

Then we made an unscheduled stop.  Chuck E Cheese was close to a K Mart, and we stopped in to purchase Louis his first belt.

Off to Bay Beach.  Because of all the rain, the lines for all of the rides were very short, relative to your average summer day.   I had a front row seat as my son rode the Ferris Wheel for the first time.  He was the one screaming “Yahoo!” and I was the one with my stomach in my throat.  He rode a number of other rides, and he was about the happiest person at the park.  We had a picnic at the Park and watched other kids run around, Lou asking questions the whole time.  “What other rides are there”?  “Why don’t you like being up high, Daddy”?  “Can I ride the pony Daddy”?

Speaking of the pony, a very funny thing happened.  Louis was getting on his pony when the pony in front of his decided to open his business.  When Louis saw one of the employees shoveling it up, he said “Daddy, is that jello”?

Then we went to the Wildlife Preserve, we walked over a long high bridge, we rode bikes and got ice cream, we goofed around on the Fox River Trail and caught worms and bugs, kid fun is way way way way better than adult fun.

