I’m giving a shot.  Well he’s not new, I rarely if ever listen to any “new” artists.

It’s Robert Palmer.

Not the lounge lizard, cover of GQ, “Simply Irresistable” Robert Palmer.  Well, it’s the same guy, but before he was those things he recorded solo albums in the Bahamas and with the Meters and Little Feat as his backing band.  I’ve listened to his 1974 solo debut, “Sneakin’ Sally Through the Alley”, a few times now, and it’s great.  His voice commands the music, and with the Meters and Lowell George providing the instruments, it’s a funky Bourbon Street classic.  Try this happy one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LSDrz7VHdMw I love the female backing vocals, nobody did that better in the rock canon than Little Feat.

I don’t think his other albums will improve much on this formula, but like I said, I’m going to give him a shot.

